Foundation history of India States and Capitals in 2020-2021

Foundation history of India States and Capitals in 2020-2021
Foundation history of India States and Capitals in 2020-2021

Foundation history of India States and Capitals in 2020-2021



States and Capitals: India has 28 States and 8 UTC

India is the seventh biggest country on the planet and furthermore the second crowded. It lies in southern Asia. It is authoritatively known as the Republic of India. It is represented by a parliamentary type of government. It gets extremely hard to deal with the enormous country from one spot. So Indian Constitution offers the right to the focal government to cause states as it to feel appropriate. This article mentions the rundown of States or Capitals of India with the founded of the year.



States and Capitals of India 2020

What number of states are there in India?
Do you know the appropriate response to the inquiry posed above (what number of states are in India?)? if not, this article is for you. Numerous individuals don’t know about the all-out number of States/Union Territories in India and their capitals. In this post, we are provided you with the most recent update of the States and Capitals of India. There is a sum of 28 states and 8 association regions in India as of now. Each territory of India has a regulatory, administrative and legal capital some express every one of the three capacities is directed in one capital. every state is governed by a Chief Minister (CM). Here we have covered the rundown of the Indian States, Union Territories, and their capitals.


States and Capitals of India List 

As a capable resident, we should think about the States and capitals of India. The states and the capitals are usually asked as the General Awareness Inquiries in various serious tests held everywhere in the country. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as per the following.

States and Capitals of India 2020

S.No Founded on States Name Capital
1 1 Nov. 1956 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)
2 20 Feb. 1987 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 26 Jan. 1950 Assam Dispur
4 26 Jan. 1950 Bihar Patna
5 1 Nov. 2000 Chhattisgarh Raipur
6 30 May. 1987 Goa Panaji
7 1 May. 1960 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 1 Nov. 1966 Haryana Chandigarh
9 25 Jan. 1971 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
10 15 Nov. 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
11 1 Nov. 1956 Karnataka Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore)
12 1 Nov. 1956 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
13 1 Nov. 1956 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
14 1 May. 1960 Maharashtra Mumbai
15 21 Jan. 1972 Manipur Imphal
16 21 Jan. 1972 Meghalaya Shillong
17 20 Feb. 1987 Mizoram Aizawl
18 1 Dec. 1963 Nagaland Kohima
19 26 Jan. 1950 Odisha Bhubaneswar
20 1 Nov. 1956 Punjab Chandigarh
21 1 Nov. 1956 Rajasthan Jaipur
22 16 May. 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
23 26 Jan. 1950 Tamil Nadu Chennai
24 2 Jun. 2014 Telangana Hyderabad
25 21 Jan. 1972 Tripura Agartala
26 26 Jan. 1950 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
27 9 Nov. 2000 Uttarakhand Dehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
28 1 Nov. 1956 West Bengal Kolkata



Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals
At Present India currently has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The past province of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The recently framed association regions have been shaped under a redesign act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At this time in India has 8 Union Territories.
SR No. 
Founded on
Union Territories Names
1 Nov. 1956
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Port Blair
1 Nov. 1966
26 Jan. 2020
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu
9 May. 1905
New Delhi
31 Oct 2019
Jammu and Kashmir
Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
1 Nov. 1956
1 Nov. 1954
31 Oct 2019



NEXT POST READ – List of Country, Capital & Currency (

States and Capitals of India Map

You can check the most recent political guide of India which gives the all outnumber of states + association regions in India and their capitals as of November 2020.

All States and his Capitals: Important Points of the States and UT (Union Territories)

Subsequent to getting the rundown of Indian States and Union Territories with its capitals, let us initially see how to isolate the state from an association domain. Out of the eight association regions in India, three association domains have their own governing bodies these are Delhi, Puducherry (once in the past Pondicherry), and Jammu and Kashmir. Every association region and state has a capital.
Union Territories State
Union Territories are constituent units that are controlled and administered by the Central Government.  The state has its own administrative units with its own elected government.
Executive Head is the President Executive Head is the Governor
Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rest in the hands of the Union. The relationship with the Centre is Federal.
Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry, and Jammu & Kashmir) Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people.
Lieutenant is the real head. Chief Minister is the real head.


States and Capitals of India: UT Updates
Before we get into the Union Territories and their capitals, let us initially view the new reports on UT’s as of November 2020.
  • Since 26th January 2020, India has 8 association domains. The U.T Daman and Diu, Dadra, and Nagar Haveli have become a solitary association domain.
  • On August 5, the focal government had additionally declared the repeal of the exceptional status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and its division into two Union Territories for demo and example of UTs of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.
  • With the consolidation of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the quantity of UT’s has boiled down to eight.


States and Capitals of India: FAQs

Q1. What number of states are there in India?
  There is an aggregate of 28 States in India as of November 2020.
Q2. What number of states and association regions are there in India?
 There are 28 states and 8 association regions in India as of now.
Q3. Which Union regions was converged in January 2020?
Daman and Diu is converged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli.
Q4. Which state has been Partition to make association region?
Jammu and Kashmir is a Partition into Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.
Q5. What is the Capital of India?
  New Delhi is the capital of India.
Q6. Who is the head of Union Territory?
Lieutenant Governor is the top of the Union Territory.
tags- Indian states formation dates pdf, the formation of Indian states after independence, states and capitals of India 2020, the foundation day of Indian states, statehood day of Indian states, the formation of states in India year-wise, how many states celebrate their foundation day on 1 November, union territories of India, states and capitals of India 2020, states and capitals of India 2020 pdf, 9 union territories of India, how many states and union territories are there in India, 29 states of India, 29 states of india and their capitals and languages, 7 union territories of india

NEXT POST READ – List of Country, Capital & Currency ( will update many more new jobs and study materials and exam updates, keep Visiting, and share our post of, So more people will get this. This content and notes are not related to and if you have any objection over this post, content, links, and notes, you can mail us at
And you can follow and subscribe to other social platforms. All social site links in the subscribe tab and bottom of the page.

 Important Links

Particulars Official Links 
Related Links
Instagram, IndiaDigitalHub
Another site visit