List of Districts in Bihar 2023


List of Districts in Bihar 2023

List of Districts in Bihar 2023:- In order to improve administrative control, Bihar’s 38 districts are divided into nine divisions. These locales are each headed by a Region Justice (DM). 

The DM receives assistance from a number of additional administrative officers in maintaining law and order in the districts. Subdivisions and Community Development Blocks are further subdivisions that make up each district in Bihar.

We have provided information about each district in Bihar and the administrative divisions in which they are located here. The entire list of districts in the state of Bihar can be found here.

How Many Districts in Bihar?

Bihar will have 38 districts by 2023. comprised of nine administrative divisions. The administration of law and order in these districts is the responsibility of a Deputy Commissioner or District Magistrate. The number of districts in Bihar has not changed significantly in recent years.
In contrast to other states in India, Bihar has had the same number of districts for a long time. The state has not received a significant public demand to include additional districts.

List of Districts in Bihar 2023

We have provided comprehensive information about the Bihar districts, including their population and area. The table that is provided below contains significant information regarding Bihar’s districts.
No. Name of Head Quarters Name of District Population Area (sq km)
1 Araria Araria 2,811,569 2,829
2 Arwal Arwal 699,000 637
3 Aurangabad Aurangabad 2,540,073 3,303
4 Banka Banka 2,034,763 3,018
5 Begusarai Begusarai 2,970,541 1,917
6 Bhagalpur Bhagalpur 3,037,766 2,569
7 Arrah Bhojpur 2,728,407 2,473
8 Buxar Buxar 1,706,352 1,624
9 Darbhanga Darbhanga 3,937,385 2,278
10 Motihari East Champaran 5,099,371 3,969
11 Gaya Gaya 4,391,418 4,978
12 Gopalganj Gopalganj 2,562,012 2,033
13 Jamui Jamui 1,760,405 3,099
14 Jehanabad Jehanabad 1,125,313 1,569
15 Khagaria Khagaria 1,666,886 1,486
16 Kishanganj Kishanganj 1,690,400 1,884
17 Bhabua Kaimur 1,626,384 3,363
18 Katihar Katihar 3,071,029 3,056
19 Lakhisarai Lakhisarai 1,000,912 1,229
20 Madhubani Madhubani 4,487,379 3,501
21 Munger Munger 1,367,765 1,419
22 Madhepura Madhepura 2,001,762 1,787
23 Muzaffarpur Muzaffarpur 4,801,062 3,173
24 Bihar Sharif Nalanda 2,877,653 2,354
25 Nawada Nawada 2,219,146 2,492
26 Patna Patna 5,838,465 3,202
27 Purnia Purnia 3,264,619 3,228
28 Sasaram Rohtas 2,959,918 3,850
29 Saharsa Saharsa 1,900,661 1,702
30 Samastipur Samastipur 4,261,566 2,905
31 Sheohar Sheohar 656,916 443
32 Sheikhpura Sheikhpura 634,927 689
33 Chhapra Saran 3,951,862 2,641
34 Dumra,Sitamarhi Sitamarhi 3,423,574 2,199
35 Supaul Supaul 2,229,076 2,410
36 Siwan Siwan 3,330,464 2,219
37 Hajipur Vaishali 3,495,021 2,036
38 Bettiah West Champaran 3,935,042 5,229

Districts in Bihar – Administrative Divisions

In order to better maintain law and order within the districts, as was previously mentioned, all Bihar districts are divided into nine administrative divisions. To determine which administrative division covers which district in Bihar, refer to the table below.
Bihar Districts
Bhojpur, Buxar, Kaimur, Patna, Rohtas, Nalanda
Saran, Siwan , Gopalganj
East Champaran, Muzaffarpur, Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Vaishali, West Champaran
Araria, Katihar, Kishanganj, Purnia
Banka, Bhagalpur
Darbhanga, Madhubani, Samastipur
Madhepura, Saharsa, Supaul
Arwal, Aurangabad, Gaya, Jehanabad, Nawada
Begusarai,Jamui, Khagaria, Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura

FAQs on Districts in Bihar

Q1. How many districts will there be in Bihar in 2023?
In 2023, there will be 38 districts in Bihar. Saharsa, Patna, Nawada, Nalanda, Kishanganj, Gopalganj, Buxar, Bhojpur, Aurangabad, Araria, Arwal, Banka, West Champaran, Siwan, Vaishali, Saran, Supaul, Sitamarhi, Sheikhpura, Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga, and other districts like these are included in this category.
Q2. What are the names of Bihar’s 38 districts?
The names of 38 locales in Bihar are West Champaran, Siwan, Vaishali, Saran, Supaul, Sitamarhi, Sheikhpura, Saharsa, Patna, Nawada, Nalanda, Kishanganj, Gopalganj, Buxar, Bhojpur, Aurangabad, Araria, Arwal, Banka, Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga, East Champaran, and so on.
Q3. Which Bihar district is the largest?
In terms of population, Patna is Bihar’s largest district. There are approximately 5,838,465 people living in this district, which has a total area of 3,202 square kilometers. West Champaran, on the other hand, is the largest district in Bihar in terms of area, covering 5,229 square kilometers.
Q4. Where can I locate a list of Bihar’s districts?
The Bihar district list can be found here. We have provided information about the districts of Bihar, including their total population and area. We have also included information about the administrative divisions that make up the Bihar districts.
Q5. Which Bihar district is the smallest?
Sheohar is the Bihar district with the smallest area. This district only covers 443 square kilometers. Despite this, the district of Bihar has a surprisingly high population density. The overall population of Sheohar is estimated to be 6.56 lakhs, according to the 2011 consensus.
Q6. Which five districts in Bihar have the most land area?
West Champaran (5,229 square kilometers), Gaya (4,978 square kilometers), East Champaran (3,969 square kilometers), Rohtas (3,850 square kilometers), and Kaimur (3,363 square kilometers) are the five largest districts in Bihar in terms of area.

Learn more about each state’s number of districts.

Indian States

Arunachal Pradesh Assam  Bihar Chhattisgarh
Delhi Goa Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram Nagaland Odisha
Punjab Rajasthan Seemandhra Sikkim
Tamilnadu Telangana Tripura Uttar Pradesh
Uttarakhand West Bengal

Union Territories

Andaman and Nicobar Chandigarh  Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu Lakshadweep Puducherry

———————————————————- The End —————————————————– will update many more new jobs and study materials and exam updates, keep Visiting and share our post of, So more people will get this. This content and notes are not related to and if you have any objection over this post, content, links, and notes, you can mail us at And you can follow and subscribe to other social platforms. All social site links are in the subscribe tab and bottom of the page.

Important Links

Official Links    ———————————————————-   Related Links

You-tube    ———————————————————-   GKDuniya9

Instagram    ———————————————————-

Facebook    ———————————————————-

Twitter    ———————————————————-

Linkedin    ———————————————————-

Pinterest    ———————————————————-

Google Rank    ———————————————————-   Gkduniya