List of Districts in Goa 2023

goa districts map, List of districts of goa districts map
goa districts map, List of districts of goa districts map

List of Districts in Goa 2023

List of Districts in Goa 2023:- North Goa and South Goa are the two districts in Goa. Goa is a state in India that is on the country’s southwest coast. It is in the Konkan region. In the past, this state was a part of the Indian Portuguese territories. On May 30, 1987, Goa became an independent state and was reorganized into the two districts it is today.

The names of the Goa districts and other information have been shared here. Here, you can find information about the total population and area of the Goa districts.

How Many Districts in Goa

In Goa, there are only two districts. Goa was once one of many Indian Portuguese possessions. In Goa, this Portuguese colonial rule lasted until 1961. North Goa and South Goa were reorganized as districts after Goa became an independent state.

Subdivisions and talukas further divide the districts of Goa. Subdivisions and talukas are overseen by Deputy Collectors and mamlatdars, whereas the Goa districts are led by a Commissioner and District Magistrate.

Goa District List

The Goa district list is available here. The names of the two districts in Goa are displayed in the table, along with information about their headquarters, the area they cover, and the people who live there. Take a look at the information provided below about the Goa districts.

List of Districts in Goa 2023

# Population (2011) Headquarters District Density (/km²) Area (km²)
1 817,761 Panaji North Goa 471 1,736
2 639,962 Madgaon South Goa 326 1,966

About North Goa District

One of Goa’s districts is North Goa. It has a total population of 818,008 people and covers 1736 square kilometers. The Arabian Sea can be found to the west of the North Goa district, to the south of the South Goa district, to the north of Maharashtra, and to the east of Karnataka. The district of Goa’s administrative structure is provided below.

S. R. No. North Goa District
1 Mapusa, Bicholim and Panaji Subdivisions
2 Bardez, Tiswadi, Bicholim, Sattari, Pernem Talukas

About the district of South Goa

South Goa is Goa’s second district. South Goa is a 1,966-square-kilometer region with an estimated 640,537 people living there.

S. R. No. South Goa District
1 Mormugao, Ponda, Quepem, Margao and Dharbandora Subdivisions
2 Mormugao, Ponda, Quepem, Salcete, Sanguem, Dharbandora and Canacona Talukas


Questions and Answers about Goa’s Districts

Q1. How many districts does Goa have?

In Goa, there are only two districts. North Goa and South Goa are the names of the districts in Goa. Panaji is the location of the North Goa district’s headquarters, while Madgaon is the location of the South Goa district’s headquarters. Goa’s districts are further broken up into a number of sub-divisions.

Q2. Which Goan district is the largest?

Of the two districts in Goa, South Goa is the larger. North Goa is about 1,736 square kilometers in size, while South Goa is about 1,966 square kilometers in size. However, North Goa has the largest population, with 817,761 people living there.

Q3. Where can I find a list of Goa’s districts?

The Goa district list can be found here. In Goa, there are only two districts: Goa’s north and south. We have provided information about both districts, as well as information about each district’s total population and area.

Q4. Why are there only two districts in Goa?

North Goa and South Goa are the only two districts in Goa. Goa, Daman, and Diu were once considered union territories. On the other hand, when Goa became a state on May 30, 1987, the region was reorganized, and the two Goa districts were announced.

Q5. Is there a subdivision for each district in Goa?

Yes, there are subdivisions that separate the Goa districts. The specifics of Goa’s districts and subdivisions are listed below:

      • North Goa – Mapusa, Panaji, and Bicholim regions.
      • Mormugao, Ponda, Quepem, Margao, and Dharbandora districts in south Goa

Learn more about each state’s number of districts.

Indian States

Arunachal Pradesh Assam  Bihar Chhattisgarh
Delhi Goa Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram Nagaland Odisha
Punjab Rajasthan Seemandhra Sikkim
Tamilnadu Telangana Tripura Uttar Pradesh
Uttarakhand West Bengal

Union Territories

Andaman and Nicobar Chandigarh  Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu Lakshadweep Puducherry


———————————————————- The End —————————————————– will update many more new jobs and study materials and exam updates, keep Visiting and share our post of, So more people will get this. This content and notes are not related to and if you have any objection over this post, content, links, and notes, you can mail us at And you can follow and subscribe to other social platforms. All social site links are in the subscribe tab and bottom of the page.

Important Links

Official Links    ———————————————————-   Related Links

You-tube    ———————————————————-   GKDuniya9

Instagram    ———————————————————-

Facebook    ———————————————————-

Twitter    ———————————————————-

Linkedin    ———————————————————-

Pinterest    ———————————————————-

Google Rank    ———————————————————-   Gkduniya