List of districts of Delhi 2023

List of districts of delhi districts map
List of districts of delhi districts

List of districts of Delhi 2023

List of districts of Delhi 2023:- In Delhi, India, there are eleven revenue or administrative districts. A District Magistrate (DM), also known as a Deputy Commissioner (DC), is in charge of each of these districts and reports to the Divisional Commissioner of Delhi. There are 33 sub-divisions of Delhi made up of these 11 districts, each headed by a Sub-Divisional Magistrate (SDM).

The district administration of Delhi is the department that enforces all of the policies of the Government of Delhi and has supervisory authority over many other government employees.

New Delhi fills in as the capital of India and is the seat of every one of the three parts of the public authority, Leader (Rashtrapati Bhavan), Lawmaking body (Sansad Bhavan), and Legal executive (High Court). Similarly, Delhi is broken up into 15 Police Districts, each headed by a Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) IPS officer.


The British rule of India from 1858 to 1947 is the source of Delhi’s current administrative structure. India’s capital was moved to New Delhi from Calcutta in the Bengal Presidency during the 1911 Delhi Durbar. Later the situation with Delhi was raised to an Association Region in November 1956. Delhi was officially renamed the National Capital Territory of Delhi, or NCT of Delhi, following the implementation of the 69th Constitutional (Amendment) Act of 1991.

There were only four administrative districts in Delhi in the 1970s: North, South, Central, and New Delhi. There were nine administrative districts and 27 sub-divisions from January 1997 to September 2012. Two brand-new administrative districts, namely The map of the city now shows Shahdara and the eastern part of the city.

The Delhi Police Act of 1978 brought Delhi under the jurisdiction of the Police Commissioner. From that point forward practically all powers concerning the support of regulation and request with the Appointee Chief were vested in the Magistrate of Delhi Police (according to the Criminal methodology code or CrPC)

The past Civil Enterprise of Delhi (MCD) appeared in April 1958 and hence, Agent Chiefs played no part in metropolitan works. Later in January 2012, MCD was trifurcated into North, South, and East MCD. Every one of these 3 metropolitan partnerships was going by an IAS official in the position of Civil Chief. The three municipal corporations were reorganized into the brand-new Municipal Corporation of Delhi in 2022.

List of Delhi districts by population

List of Delhi districts by population, literacy rate, and sex ratio, among other factors. Delhi is broken up into nine districts (Zilla) that serve as the city’s administrative divisions, according to the 2011 Census. The most populous district of Delhi is North West, while the least populous district in New Delhi.

The entire list of Delhi’s districts (Zilla), sorted by population, can be found below.

S. R. No.  Population District Sub-districts Sex Ratio Literacy
1 3,656,539 North West Tehsils 865 84.45%
2 2,731,929 South Tehsils 862 86.57%
3 2,543,243 West Tehsils 875 86.98%
4 2,292,958 South West Tehsils 840 88.28%
5 2,241,624 North East Tehsils 886 83.09%
6 1,709,346 East Tehsils 884 89.31%
7 887,978 North Tehsils 869 86.85%
8 582,320 Central Tehsils 892 85.14%
9 142,004 New Delhi Tehsils 822 88.34%


How many districts does Delhi have?

In Delhi, there are 11 districts. The districts of Delhi are listed here.

No. Population Name of Head Quarters Name of District Area (sq km)
1 578,671 Daryaganj Central Delhi 23
2 883,418 Sadar Bazaar North Delhi 59
3 2,733,752 Saket South Delhi 249
4 1,707,725 Preet Vihar East Delhi 49
5 2,240,749 Shahdara North East Delhi 56
6 2,292,363 Palam South West Delhi 421
7 133,713 Connaught Place New Delhi 35
8 3,651,261 Kanjhawala North West Delhi 2,344
9 2,531,583 Rajouri Garden West Delhi 131
10 322,931 Shahdara Shahdara ——
11 637,775 Defence Colony South East Delhi ——-


Learn more about each state’s number of districts.

Indian States

Arunachal Pradesh Assam  Bihar Chhattisgarh
Delhi Goa Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram Nagaland Odisha
Punjab Rajasthan Seemandhra Sikkim
Tamilnadu Telangana Tripura Uttar Pradesh
Uttarakhand West Bengal

Union Territories

Andaman and Nicobar Chandigarh  Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu Lakshadweep Puducherry

———————————————————- The End —————————————————– will update many more new jobs and study materials and exam updates, keep Visiting and share our post of, So more people will get this. This content and notes are not related to and if you have any objection over this post, content, links, and notes, you can mail us at And you can follow and subscribe to other social platforms. All social site links are in the subscribe tab and bottom of the page.

Important Links

Official Links    ———————————————————-   Related Links

You-tube    ———————————————————-   GKDuniya9

Instagram    ———————————————————-

Facebook    ———————————————————-

Twitter    ———————————————————-

Linkedin    ———————————————————-

Pinterest    ———————————————————-

Google Rank    ———————————————————-   Gkduniya