List of districts in Himachal Pradesh 2023

List of Districts in Himachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, districts map, List of districts of Himachal Pradesh districts map, List of Districts in Himachal Pradesh 2023
List of Districts in Himachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, districts map, List of districts of Himachal Pradesh districts map, List of Districts in Himachal Pradesh 2023

List of districts in Himachal Pradesh 2023

List of districts in Himachal Pradesh 2023:- There are 12 districts in Himachal Pradesh. Mandi, Shimla, and Kangra are the three administrative divisions that make up these districts. A District Magistrate is in charge of each of the state’s districts. Better administrative control over the region is made possible by the division of the Himachal Pradesh districts.

We have shared the names of the relative multitude of areas in the province of Himachal Pradesh here. Check out the names as well as additional information about the districts in Himachal Pradesh, such as the year they were established, their total population, the area they cover, and so on.

History of districts in HP India 2023

Twelve districts make up the northern Indian state of Himachal Pradesh. An Indian Administrative Service officer is in charge of the Revenue department, which is run by a Deputy Commissioner or District Magistrate. A number of officers from the Himachal Administrative Service and other Himachal state services assist the district magistrate or deputy commissioner.

  • The head of the district’s judiciary is a District Judge. Judicial Magistrates, Senior Civil Judges, and Civil Judges are among his subordinate courts.
  • The district’s law and order as well as issues related to it are the responsibility of an Indian Police Service officer known as a Superintendent of Police. The Himachal Police Service officers and other officials from the Himachal Police are there to assist him.
  • The Indian Forest Service’s Deputy Conservator of Forests is in charge of the district’s management of forest, environmental, and wildlife-related issues. He is assisted by Himachal Wild-Life officials, Himachal Forest Service officers, and other Himachal officials.
  • The district head of each development department, including PWD, health, education, agriculture, and animal husbandry, oversees sectoral development. The various State Services are represented by these officers.

How Many Districts in Himachal Pradesh 

Himachal Pradesh is a state in the north of India that was established on January 25, 1971. Himachal Pradesh is made up of 12 districts. We have shared additional data about these regions here –

  • The Himachal Pradesh regions are going by a Locale Judge or a Representative Chief.
  • A District Judge serves as the state’s head of the judiciary.
  • In the HP districts, matters pertaining to law and order are overseen by a Superintendent of Police.
  • A Deputy Conservator of Forests is in charge of managing the state’s forests.

Names of HP Districts 2023

Himachal Pradesh Districts Names:– The names of all the districts in Himachal Pradesh are listed here. The table provided below lists the names of all 12 districts in the state of Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh Districts Names 2023
1. Chamba
2. Shimla
3. Kullu
4. Bilaspur
5. Kangra
6. Hamirpur
7. Kinnaur
8. Solan
9. Una
10. Simraur
11. Lahaul and Spiti
12. Mandi


List of districts in Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh District List 2023: You can learn more about the HP districts here. The data regarding the year of formation, the total area covered, and the total population of each Himachal Pradesh district are presented in the table that is provided below. For more information about the state’s districts, consult the table below.

S. No. Established
District Population
(2011 census)

Area (km2) Population
density (/km2)
1 1954 Bilaspur Bilaspur 381,956 1,167 327
2 1948 Chamba Chamba 519,080 6,522 80
3 1972 Hamirpur Hamirpur 454,768 1,118 407
4 1972 Dharamsala Kangra 1,510,075 5,739 263
5 1960 Reckong Peo Kinnaur 84,121 6,401 13
6 1963 Kullu Kullu 437,903 5,503 80
7 1960 Kyelang Lahaul and Spiti 31,564 13,835 2
8 1948 Mandi Mandi 999,777 3,950 253
9 1972 Shimla Shimla 814,010 5,131 159
10 1948 Nahan Sirmaur 529,855 2,825 188
11 1972 Solan Solan 580,320 1,936 300
12 1972 Una Una 521,173 1,540 338

HP Districts – Administrative Divisions

There are three administrative divisions that make up the Himachal Pradesh districts. The names of the administrative divisions and the districts within them are listed below.

  • Kinnaur, Solan, and Shimla are all in Shimla.
  • Mandi includes Bilaspur, Mandi, Hamirpur, Lahaul, Spiti, and Kullu.
  • Una, Kangra, and Chamba are all Kangra.

Questions and Answers regarding the Districts of Himachal Pradesh, (FAQ of  Himachal Pradesh 2023)

Q1. In 2023, how many districts will Himachal Pradesh have?

In the year 2023, Himachal Pradesh will have 12 districts. A District Magistrate or Deputy Commissioner is in charge of each of these districts. With the assistance of a Superintendent of Police and the HP state police, they maintain law and order in the districts.

Q2. Which Himachal Pradesh district is larger and smaller?

The biggest region in Himachal Pradesh as far as the region is Lahaul and Spiti. 13,835 square kilometers make up this district. Hamirpur, on the other hand, is the smallest district in Himachal Pradesh. This district covers only 1,118 square kilometers in size.

Q3. What are the names of all the Himachal Pradesh locales?

Kangra, Shimla, Mandi, Kullu, Chamba, Hamirpur, Solan, Lahaul & Spiti, Simraur, Una, Bilaspur, and Kinnaur are the names of all the districts in Himachal Pradesh. The administrative divisions of Kangra, Shimla, and Mandi encompass these districts.

Q4. Are the districts in Himachal Pradesh 16 or 12?

There are twelve districts in Himachal Pradesh. Subdistricts, tehsils, and pathways are further subdivisions of these districts. With the assistance of a Superintendent of Police, a Deputy Commissioner oversees revenue collection as well as matters of law and order in the Himachal Pradesh districts.

Q5. Where could I at any point find the Himachal Pradesh region list?

The Himachal Pradesh district list can be found here. Here, we have provided a list of all of Himachal Pradesh’s districts. Check out the names and additional information for each of the twelve HP districts. Learn specifics about each HP district’s total area and population, among other things.

Learn more about each state’s number of districts.

Indian States

Arunachal Pradesh Assam  Bihar
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Nagaland Odisha Punjab
Rajasthan Seemandhra Sikkim
Tamilnadu Telangana Tripura
Uttar Pradesh
West Bengal

Union Territories

Andaman and Nicobar Chandigarh 
Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu
Lakshadweep Puducherry


—————————The End————————— will update many more new jobs and study materials and exam updates, keep Visiting and share our post of, So more people will get this. This content and notes are not related to and if you have any objection over this post, content, links, and notes, you can mail us at And you can follow and subscribe to other social platforms. All social site links are in the subscribe tab and bottom of the page.

Important Links
Official Links Related Links
You-tube GKDuniya9
Google Rank Gkduniya